SWR Symphonieorchester
Teodor Currentzis | Dirigent

Sergej Newski
18 Episodes for Orchestra (2019)
für Orchester und Zuspiel
Kompositionsauftrag von ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln, gefördert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Dmitri Kourliandski
Riot of Spring (2013)
für Orchester

Sergej Rachmaninow
Sinfonie Nr. 2 e-Moll op. 27 (1906–07)

Pause gegen 18:45 | Ende gegen 20:00

Das Konzert im Radio: Freitag 17.05.2019, WDR3 Konzert, 20:04

17:00 Uhr, Empore :

Gefördert durch Kuratorium KölnMusik e.V.

KölnMusik gemeinsam


What is folklore today? How is the collective subconscious expressed? Can it be combined with a concert situation? Looking for answers to these questions, Dmitri Kourliandski turned to rave culture. He calls his Riot of Spring, a twelve-minute super-crescendo for electronic sounds, orchestra and an audience ready to join in, a “techno ballet”. The title of the work refers to the political situation in Russia during the year of its creation, 2013, but also to Stravinsky’s scandalous ballet Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring), its senior by 100 years.