Matthias Buchholz | Viola
Christian Wetzel | Oboe
Barbara Fuchs | Tanz, Choreographie

Orchester der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln
Alexander Rumpf | Dirigent
Britta Lieberknecht | Choreographie

Bernd Alois Zimmermann
Sonate für Viola solo (1955)
…an den Gesang eines Engels

Bernd Alois Zimmermann
Impromptu (1958)
für Orchester

Bernd Alois Zimmermann
Konzert für Oboe und kleines Orchester (1952)

Bernd Alois Zimmermann
Stille und Umkehr (1970)

Bernd Alois Zimmermann
Photoptosis (1968)
Prélude für großes Orchester

keine Pause | Ende gegen 16:00

14:30 Uhr, Empore : ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln ACHT BRÜCKEN Freihafen Einführung in das Konzert mit Louwrens Langevoort und Alexander Rumpf

Gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

ACHT BRÜCKEN gemeinsam mit der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln

A monolithic piece such as the Sonata for Viola easily occupies the central role in any programme, no matter whether it is placed at the beginning, middle or end, especially since the interpretation inherent in the choreography by Britta Lieberknecht opens up an additional dimension of the music. From here, the concert by the music students from Cologne sketches a line of development from Zimmermann’s early to his late works, from the linearity of the solo sonata to complex simultaneity in »Photoptosis«, from the homophone movement of the viola to the static nature of orchestral sound and sound colour agglomerations. And always, the toying with time remains, the presence of the past in the present, from tradition to avantgarde.