Zola Mennenöh | Stimme, Elektronik
Halvcirkel | String Quartet
Bettina Marie Ezaki | violin
Alba Thilo Nielsen | violin
Mika Persdotter | viola
Nicole Hogstrand | viola da gamba
Kathrin Pechlof | Harfe
Simon Toldam | piano
Malte Zenses | Bühnenbild
Hipermania | Video

Zola Mennenöh
A Labour Of Love (2022)
elektro-akustische Suite + Installation

No intermission | Estimated end at 21:00

Supported by Kunststiftung NRW

ACHT BRÜCKEN in Kooperation mit den Stadtentwässerungsbetrieben Köln

Love is an important resource of social power and change. Zola Mennenöh is aware of this, and in her electro-acoustic suite »A Labour of Love«, she creates a fruitful relation between her expressive singing and the virtuoso playing of harpist Sissi Rada, the sonic sensibility of the Copenhagen-based string quartet Halvcirkel and the wise reticence of the Danish jazz pianist Simon Toldam. The result is a delicate kind of music that is able to inspire new forms of encounters. Zola Mennenöh studied in Berlin and Copenhagen and with Sidsel Endresen in Oslo before establishing herself not just in Germany with her brand of music that oscillates between avant-garde pop and neo-classicism. In the spring of 2021, the British Guardian named her one of the best new artists. Mennenöh’s labour of love will transform the almost sacred interior of the storage space for mobile flood barriers into an immersive performance space, dissolving the barriers between stage and audience.